2nd Rag Beer Festival, Cambridge

Cambridge Rag put on a beer festival for Rag Week on the 6th and 7th March. It was a great little event actually – there were more cask ales  available than I previously anticipated, with offerings from Beeston brewery, Milton, Cambridge City and Moonshine and Oakham, to name a few. There were also ciders and perries, and bottled foreign beers.

img_8223

It wasn’t very busy in the early afternoon, but the later it got, the more the students piled in. One of my favourites of the festival was Afternoon delight by Beestons, which at 3.7% had a hoppy kick and was sweet with a slight taste of honey. I had some Mulberry Whale from Moonshine at 4%, and although I have enjoyed this out of a bottle, I can’t say I particularly rated it on this occasion; it wasn’t unpleasant, it just wasn’t very memorable. I love Milton beers, and Milton’s Icarus (4.2%) was very light coloured, just as I like it, but tasted slightly watery. There were some much nicer ales available.

Northumberland’s Bucking Fastard (try asking for that one after you’ve had a few) was lovely and very easy drinking at 4%. But the beer of the festival for me was Oakham’s Asylum, 4.5%. Oakham do just wonderful ales; JHB and Bishop’s Farewell are my favourites, and Asylum is up there at the top with them. It’s described as a session beer and I wish I had discovered it earlier on in the festival, but I really can’t drink very much and therefore  didn’t manage to have as much of it as I’d have liked.  It has a really grapefruity smell, and a taste of hops and sherbet. That’s the best way I can describe it! It’s a really uplifting beer.

A nice man called John  was sitting with us, and we had a few samples of the drinks he was trying that I wouldn’t normally go for, such as the Marcus Aurelius (Milton) at 7.5% – heats you up like whisky as it goes down! – and the Pickled Pig perry which is so strong and tart that I wouldnt be able to drink much of it. He is opening up a pub in St Neots, so must pay him a visit soon.

img_82171

img_8218

Published in: on April 28, 2009 at 4:44 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beertalk.wordpress.com/2009/04/28/2nd-rag-beer-festival-cambridge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

