Norwich pubs, the Fat Cat in particular…

There is one great pub that stands out for me in Norwich, and that’s the Fat Cat. This pub is slightly outside the city centre, but it’s worth the walk. It’s a real neighbourhood pub, located on the corner of a couple of terraced streets – and it is so popular that it’s always heaving with people (but that may be because I tend to visit on the weekend so it may be quieter during the week, although I am not so sure…). They brew their own beer, and my favourite of the lot has to be the Fat Cat Bitter at 3.8% – my sort of beer, easy to drink, light golden, hoppy, moorish, brewed with my favourite hops, Cascade – in fact I couldn’t ask for more. And its only £2 a pint – bargain. We took some home as one of our group was driving – they provide handy carry-out containers – but it went way too quickly. There are several other Fat Cat ales available such as Fat Cat Top Cat and Wild Cat, and so many other real ales to choose from, served on tap or on gravity (in other words, straight from the cask) – in fact you are spoilt for choice. There are far too many to mention. Although I will mention that at the moment they have Oakham’s Bishops Farewell on gravity which is one of my favourite beers; it’s really unfair that I can’t find it on tap anywhere in Cambridge – give me a shout if you come across it anywhere!

For more on the Fat Cat click here and here.

The Fat Cat, Norwich

The Fat Cat, Norwich

Fat Cat beers

Fat Cat beers

A couple of other pubs in Norwich worth mentioning are the Adam and Eve, a pretty pub known as the oldest ale house in Norwich where I had a quick Molecatcher. And another great pub which has a fantastic riverside location, a lovely garden, and several hand pumps offering the likes of Wherry and Deuchars, is The Red Lion on Bishopsgate, not far from the cathedral. It doesn’t have a website (that I know of) but you can check it out on Beer in the Evening.

The Adam and Eve

The Adam and Eve

The Red Lion

The Red Lion

My next trip to Norwich is at the end of November, when all the Christmas lights will be on, so it will be even prettier – and no doubt the Fat Cat will have some Christmas ales on tap. But, predictably, I will probably still end up drinking the Fat Cat Bitter. It’s too good to pass up.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beertalk.wordpress.com/2009/10/17/norwich-pubs-the-fat-cat-in-particular/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The challenging thing about Norwich is that there are more good pubs than you can shake a stick at!
    A visit to the Cidershed (home of the Fat Cat brewery) as is the Kings Head, the Kings Arms, Coach & Horses, Whalebone, Wig & Pen to name but a few.

    • Thanks for the tip; it’s always great to have recommendations for good pubs. I will make sure I check some of these out on my next trip to Norwich!


Leave a Reply

