Oakham Straw Bear beer

Straw Bear

I went to the Straw Bear festival in Whittlesey on Saturday, mentioned in a previous post of mine in January 2009.  I just wanted to mention an amazing beer that I discovered there, one to rival Elgood’s Straw Beer at 4% which I enjoyed last time I attended the festival.

The Parade

The beer is Oakham Straw Bear, 4.4%. I discovered this in the Bricklayers Arms on Station Road, Whittlesey, whilst waiting for the parade to begin just before 10.30 am. I don’t know what time the pubs opened there that day, but I was very impressed and pleased to be drinking at that hour along with lots of other fellow revellers!

Happy with my Oakham Straw Bear beer

Outside the Bricklayers, looking happy with my Oakham Straw Bear

The beer is another wonderful Oakham cracker – pale, light, hoppy, incredible grapefruity – it was like lots of my favourite Oakham ales rolled into one.  I am sure there must be Citra hops in there (anyone?!) , so if you are a hop monster it’s a beer you should look out for.  However, I don’t know where you will find it as it’s probably only brewed once a year, hmm… next January then, same time,  same place?

Whittlesey seemed to have loads of real ales everywhere this year – some pubs were holding mini beer festivals: The Bricklayers, where I found the Straw Bear ale, and out the back there were more beer barrels including the wonderfully citrussy Tydd Steam Barn Ale as well as other interesting ales; the Falcon on London Road was holding a mini festival in its courtyard; Hubs Place restaurant on Market Place had lots of ales on gravity in its courtyard with some delicious sounding beers (including my wonderful Oakham Citra).  And these are just the festivals I saw.

New Crown Inn

We had a wander into the newly re-opened George Hotel on Market Place.  It was great to see this old coaching inn no longer boarded up, and instead converted into a Wetherspoons pub. The pub was filled with morris dancers and musicians so it was hard to get to the bar to see what beers they had on, but Wetherspoons do generally have a large selection of real ales on tap. The New Crown inn is also one of my favourites in Whittlesey, a cute thatched pub, with the added bonus of molly dancing outside (the fantastic Pig Dyke Molly).  I had some of the Elgoods Straw Beer, 4%, and it was lovely – light, easy to drink, hoppy, flavoursome. But between Oakham Straw Bear and Elgoods Straw Beer,  I have to say that it was the Oakham beer (or bear?!) that won me over this year.  Wonderful beer. Now, how can we convince Oakham to brew this ale all year round…?!

Published in: on January 19, 2011 at 8:15 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://beertalk.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/oakham-straw-bear-beer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great website! Any chance you could add Pocket Pubs link to your home page please????? regards, Tim

    • Thanks Tim, glad you are enjoying it. I added your link to my home page. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

